Astronomy: Databases

When off-campus, the databases (including ebooks) will prompt you to log in. For login credentials, click here.

See all list of all A-Z databases.

• Astrophysics Data System (ADS): Digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics.
• ArXiv.org ePrint Archive: An open-access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. 
• NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED): A comprehensive database of multiwavelength data for extragalactic objects, providing a systematic, ongoing fusion of information integrated from hundreds of large sky surveys and tens of thousands of research publications
• NASA Technical Report Server: The NASA STI Repository (also known as the NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)) provides access to NASA metadata records, full-text online documents, images, and videos. 
• NRAO Publications (National Radio Astronomy Observatory: Publications using NRAO telescope data or written by NRAO staff.  
• Physical Reference Data: A series of online databases hosted by NIST containing physical constants, spectroscopy data, X-ray and gamma-ray data and more
• SIMBAD Astronomical Database: Provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.

Specific key words or phrases are necessary to find information in databases. Here are some suggestions: 

Basic search

• Constellations
• Moon
• Gravity
• Stars

Use quotation marks to search for exact phrases:  

• "black holes"
• "lunar phases"
• total solar eclipse"
• "rings of Saturn" OR "Saturn's rings"