LibGuides: Chemistry: Databases

Recommended Databases

When off-campus, the databases (including ebooks) will prompt you to log in. For login credentials, click here.

Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more.

Explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources.

Britannica Academic includes encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, periodicals, primary sources, multimedia and other resources and tools to help you with your research.

A full-text multidisciplinary research database containing leading global journals, magazines, and videos. Academic Search Complete provides access to a wide range of academic disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, engineering, and more.

Explore a range of topics broken down by subject for targeted results based on your interests.

See all list of all A-Z databases.

ChemSpider: A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 130 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Consumer Product Information (CPID): Information on chemical ingredients of household products and their health effects.
MDPI: A pioneer in scholarly, open access publishing, MDPI has 463 diverse and open access journals, including 454 peer-reviewed journals and 9 conference journals, are supported by more than 295,000 academic experts who share our mission, values, and commitment to providing high-quality service for our authors.
National Center for Biotechnology Information: These databases allow powerful searching of gene sequences, protein sequences, and much more.
PubChem: Chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Specific key words or phrases are necessary to find information in databases. Here are some suggestions:

Basic search

Use quotation marks to search for an entire phrase: