When off-campus, the databases (including ebooks) will prompt you to log in. For login credentials, click here. You will need to log into your Marist email account to access this document.
Physical Health
Includes information on almost 2,000 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Covers a variety of topics on physiology and fitness, including sports, body systems, the body’s reaction to physical fitness, exercise activities, diseases and conditions, treatments, fitness tests, and other health-related issues.
This book explores what systems make up the human body. Includes after reading questions and a support page of teaching tips for caregivers and teachers.
Mental Health
Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
This book provides updated information about the basics of Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), brain and mental health along with its risk factors, related problems, its impact on family, and the facts and myths of PTSD. The book also deals with the diagnosis and treatment of PTSD and elaborates how to live with PTSD.
This book provides updated information about the origins and types of stress and describes physical- and mental-health disorders that may develop or worsen during and after stressful situations. It covers asthma, digestive disorders, infertility, chronic pain, mental-health problems, and addiction. It discusses trauma, loss, and grief and offers suggestions for managing stressful situations and helping children or teens cope with stress, plus a glossary and further resources.
Public Health
Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia provides coverage of important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.
This book explores how frontline health workers in poverty-stricken areas can best address health inequalities in order to provide better outcomes for their patients.
