Biomes: eBooks

Offers detailed comparative essays on major biomes and their component ecosystems. Includes entries on land biomes and water biomes and covers climate, elevation, soil, water bodies, vegetation, animal life, food web, plant and animal adaptations, endangered species, human effects on the biome and the effects of the environment on humans' culture and economy.

Explains biological concepts and explores related fields as well as the history of biological science. Discusses critical issues such as embryogenesis and commercial applications of research in biology and addresses ethical issues. Provides information on careers in biology. Contains sidebars, bibliographies, timelines, charts, a glossary, and individual and cumulative indexes.

Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Cross-curricular in nature, the title supports both basic and advanced curricula in earth and environmental science, physics, chemistry, and biology, as well as general science, history, government, and the social sciences.

Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific areas and, in some cases, define terms.

Provides examples of science projects and experiments that can be replicated for science fairs and other purposes, as well as suggestions on ways to design projects that investigate specific scientific topics and includes step-by-step descriptions of projects.