LibGuides: World Languages: Spanish

Suggested Databases

Britannica Academic includes encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, periodicals, primary sources, multimedia and other resources and tools to help you with your research.

Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America.

Open Access Databases

Biblat: Scientific and academic journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Dialnet: Virtual library of Spanish academic journals, hosted by the University de la Rioja in Spain.
Lingmex: A linguistics database from El Colegio De México.

Periódicos

ABC España
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Histórica (The Virtual Library of Historical Newspapers)
El Economista: Economic news from México City
El País: Newspaper from Spain
Online Newspapers (search by country/region)
Periódicos Españoles Digitales
Prensa Libre: Central America newspaper
The New York Times en Espa ñol: Please visit the ARC for information on how to create a free NYT account.

Revistas

Dictionaries

Accent Marks

Conjuguemos: An online platform that offers comprehensive tools for learning Spanish verb conjugation, vocabulary, and grammar, with an extensive database of conjugated verbs and interactive activities.
Spanish Proficiency Exercises: Brief video clips in which native speakers of Spanish from various locations throughout Latin America and Spain demonstrate various language tasks.

Biblioteca Digital Hispánica (BDH): Free access to thousands of digitized documents, including printed books, manuscripts, drawings, photographs, maps, atlases, historic newspapers and magazines and audio recordings.
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes: Open-access repository of digitized Spanish-language historical texts and literature.
CIA World Factbook: Basic information (environment, geography, government, people & society, etc.) about individual countries.
United Nations en Español

Encyclopedias and reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Diccionario polifuncional sinónimos, antónimos - parónimos
Contiene más de 16.000 entradas e incluye más 100.000 sinónimos, 8.000 antónimos y numerosos parónimos de esas voces. En cada entrada, tanto los sinónimos como los antónimos están agrupados de acuerdo con los distintos significados de la palabra.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

Enciclopedia de la Medicina
Esta enciclopedia ofrece más de 150 artículos sobre temas médicos redactados por profesionales en la materia en lenguaje claro y fácil de entender. Los artículos describen las enfermedades o padecimientos, sus causas, sus síntomas, su diagnóstico, sus tratamientos y también prevención.